Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Hans-Werner Sinn
Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Hans-Werner Sinn

born 7 March 1948
1972 Bachelor of Economics, University of Münster
1978 Dr. rer. pol. University of Mannheim
1983 Post-doctorate (Habilitation), University of Mannheim
1984 – 2016 Professor of Economics and Public Finance, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich
1991 – 2016 Director of the Center for Economic Studies (CES) of the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich and Managing Director of CESifo GmbH
1999 – 2016 President of the Ifo Institute - Halle Institute for Economic Research, University of Munich/td>

Research fellowships and guest lectures (selection)
Univ. of Western Ontario / Canada (1978-79, 1984-85), Univ. of Bergen (1987), London School of Economics (1989), Stanford Univ. (1990), Princeton Univ. (1990, 1998), Univ. of Utrecht (1991), International Monetary Fund (1991), Hebrew Univ. (Arch Chair, 1997), Univ. of Oslo (1997), Univ. of Groningen (2000), Netherlands Institute for Advanced Studies (2006).

Awards (selection)
First prize of the University of Mannheim for doctoral thesis (1979, Foundation Rheinische Hypothekenbank); first prize of the University of Mannheim for Habilitation thesis (1984, Schitag Foundation); Honorary Professor at the Univ. Vienna (1988); special prize of the Herbert Quandt Foundation (1997); honorary doctorate from the Univ. Magdeburg (1999); Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany (1999); Yrjö Jahnsson Lectures, Univ. Helsinki (1999); Distinguished Scholar, Atlantic Economic Society (2000); Stevenson Lectures, Univ. of Glasgow (2000); honorary award of the Union’s Economic Advisory Council e.V. (2003); Business Book Award of the Financial Times Germany and getAbstract AG (2003); International Book Prize CORINE (2004); Tinbergen Lecture, Royal Netherlands Economic Association (2004); Cross of Merit 1st Class of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany (2005); Thünen Lecture / Economic Association (2007); Bavarian Maximilian Order for Science and Art (2008); Europe Prize of the University of Maastricht (2008); Gustav Stolper Prize / Economic Association (2008); Agnar Sandmo Lecture, Norwegian School of Economics and Business Administration (2009); D. B. Doran Lecture, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem (2010); honorary doctorate from the University of Helsinki (2011); Heinrich Heine Management Chair, University of Dusseldorf (2011); 10th European Economy Lecture, College of Europe, Bruges (2011); Erich-Schneider Memorial Lecture Kiel (2012); Egon Sohmen Lecture (2012); 7th Van Lanschot Lecture, Tilburg University (2012); Tjalling C. Koopmans Asset Award, Tilburg University (2012); State Medal for Outstanding Services to the Bavarian Economy (2012); Julian Hodge Institute of Applied Macroeconomics Annual Lecture, Cardiff (2013); 9th Annual Whitman Lecture, Peterson Institute for International Economics Washington (2013); Booth Lecture, University of Chicago Booth School of Business (2013); Ludwig Erhard Prize for Economic Journalism, Ludwig Erhard Foundation (2013); honorary doctorate, HHL Leipzig Graduate School of Management (2013); CFS Presidential Lecture, Center for Financial Studies (2014); Gustav Schmoller Medal, German Economic Association (Verein für Socialpolitik) (2014), University Teacher of the Year, German Association of Universities and Colleges (2015).

Memberships in scientific associations and other activities (selection)
Scientific Advisory Board at the Federal Ministry of Economics, Germany (since 1989); National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER), Cambridge, Mass. (since 1989); Chairman of the Expert Commission on Housing Policy, BMBau, Bonn (1992-1994); Bavarian Academy of Sciences (since 1996); Chairman of the Association for Social Policy (1997-2000); President of the International Institute of Public Finance (2006-2009); Honorary President of the International Institute of Public Finance (since 2009); Austrian Academy of Sciences, Philosophy and Historical Class, corresponding member (since 2012); European Academy of Sciences and Arts, Class V – Social Sciences, Law and Economics (since 2013).
Publication statistics
Ten major monographs in various languages (not including editorships), 16 smaller monographs, 139 scientific articles, including 85 in refereed international journals. In addition, approximately 450 policy contributions.