Family companies are top stock market performers

Popular perception often associates family businesses with non-listed companies. However, this overlooks the fact that many family businesses are successful players on the stock market. No fewer than three family businesses – Beiersdorf AG, Henkel AG & Co. KGaA and Merck KGaA – belong to the DAX 30, Germany’s benchmark index.

On behalf of the Foundation for Family Businesses, the Center for Entrepreneurial and Financial Studies at the Technical University of Munich has examined the importance of stock market-listed family businesses. Their findings: over a ten year observation period, between one-third and one-half (depending on the calculation method) of all German companies listed in Frankfurt were family-owned.

A listed company is considered a family business when the family of the founder owns at least 25 percent of the voting rights and/or a member of the founder’s family is represented on the Management Board or Supervisory Board.

Just how successful family businesses are on the stock exchange is revealed by a look at the DAXplus® Family Index. The index comprises German and international companies listed in the Prime Standard of the Frankfurt Stock Exchange in which the founding family either holds at least a 25 percent share of the voting rights or sits on the Management Board or Supervisory Board with at least 5 percent of the voting rights. The DAXplus® Family 30 Index comprises the 30 largest and most liquid stocks in the DAXplus® Family Index.

One indicator for the performance of family businesses on the stock exchange is the GEX® (German Entrepreneurial Index). It contains all owner-managed companies listed in the Prime Standard that joined the stock exchange no more than ten years ago. Owner-managed companies are those whose Management Board and Supervisory Board members or their families hold between 25 and 75 percent of the voting rights.
 

DAXplus® Family 30 Index

* The graph is intended only as an example and no responsibility is assumed for the correctness of the information.

A look at the index’s performance shows that family businesses are comparatively successful on the stock exchange. The DAXplus® Family 30 Index rose by around 110 percent between December 2012 and December 2017. The DAX 30 Index, by comparison, rose just 73 percent.

 Link to real-time chart of the DAXplus® Family 30 Index (TR) at dax-indices.com

 Link to real-time chart of the DAXplus® Family Index (TR) at dax-indices.com

 Deutsche Börse AG homepage

 Link to real-time chart of the GEX® at deutsche-boerse.com

DAXplus® Family 30 and GEX® are registered trademarks of Deutsche Börse AG.
 

 

Cookies erleichtern die Bereitstellung unserer Dienste. Mit der Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden.
Ok
Datenschutzerklärung

Familienunternehmen sind Top-Performer auch an der Börse

In der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung werden Familienunternehmen häufig mit privat gehaltenen Unternehmen gleichgesetzt. Allerdings wird dabei übersehen, dass auch viele Familienunternehmen erfolgreich an der Börse operieren. Mit der Beiersdorf AG, der Henkel AG & Co. KGaA und der Merck KGaA gehören gleich drei Familienunternehmen dem deutschen Leitindex Dax-30 an.

Im Auftrag der Stiftung Familienunternehmen hat das „Center for Entrepreneurial and Financial Studies“ an der Technischen Universität München die Bedeutung von börsennotierten Familienunternehmen untersucht. Ein Ergebnis: In dem zehnjährigen Beobachtungszeitraum waren - je nach Berechnungsmethode - zwischen einem Drittel und der Hälfte aller deutschen in Frankfurt notierten Unternehmen im Familienbesitz.

Ein börsennotiertes Unternehmen gilt als Familienunternehmen, wenn die Familie des Unternehmensgründers mindestens 25 Prozent der Stimmrechte hält und/oder ein Mitglied der Gründerfamilie im Vorstand oder Aufsichtsrat vertreten ist.

Wie erfolgreich Familienunternehmen an der Börse sind, zeigt ein Blick auf den DAXplus® Family-Index. Der Index umfasst die deutschen und internationalen Unternehmen aus dem Prime Standard der Frankfurter Wertpapierbörse, bei denen die Gründerfamilie mindestens einen 25-prozentigen Stimmrechtsanteil hat oder im Vorstand oder im Aufsichtsrat vertreten ist und dabei mindestens einen Stimmrechtsanteil von fünf Prozent hält. Der DAXplus® Family 30-Index umfasst die 30 größten und liquidesten Werte des DAXplus® Family-Index.

Ein Indikator für die Wertentwicklung von Familienunternehmen an der Börse ist der GEX® (German Entrepreneurial Index). Er enthält alle eigentümergeführten Unternehmen, die im Prime Standard gelistet sind und deren Börsengang nicht länger als zehn Jahre zurückliegt. Als eigentümergeführt gelten Unternehmen, wenn Vorstände, Aufsichtsratsmitglieder oder deren Familien zwischen 25 und 75 Prozent der Stimmrechte besitzen.
 

DAXplus® Family 30 Index

* Die Darstellung in der Grafik ist nur beispielhaft und ohne Gewähr.

Ein Blick auf die Kursentwicklung zeigt, dass Familienunternehmen vergleichsweise erfolgreich an der Börse sind. Der DAXplus® Family 30-Index legte zwischen Dezember 2012 und Dezember 2017 um rund 110 Prozent zu. Der Dax-30-Index stieg hingegen um nur 73 Prozent.

 Link zum Realtime-Chart des DAXplus® Family 30 Index (TR) auf dax-indices.com

 Link zum Realtime-Chart des DAXplus® Family Index (TR) auf dax-indices.com

 Startseite der Deutschen Börse AG

 Link zum Realtime-Chart des GEX®auf deutsche-boerse.com
 

DAXplus® Family 30 und GEX® sind eingetragene Marken der Deutsche Börse AG.
 

 

Cookies erleichtern die Bereitstellung unserer Dienste. Mit der Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden.
Ok
Datenschutzerklärung